top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMartin Allison

10 Songs Worth Remembering Life By.

*An Aesthetic Vision Board to Prepare you for the Blog Post Ahead*


Picture Me This:


You're laying in bed on a drizzly night,

watching the shadow reflections on the ceiling,

it's near the holidays season, so

several birch candles are burning,

Christmas at Hogsmead is playing on your 13" TV in the corner,



& your AirPods are full volume.

Thinking about your friends,

family too,

maybe a dog or cat,

about your adventures,

the laughs

and the loves,

the excitement and the hugs.


These are the songs you'd have in that moment, 100%.

These are the songs that would make you feel everything.


I know everyone has their own lineup of favorites when it comes to music, but honestly these are unquestionably the best every produced. While there may be a solid argument for any classical or romantic style piano nocturnes, any opinions otherwise are just plain wrong. TW: Ribs by Lorde is not included, so if you're part of that cult I do understand your philosophy, I just don't fully share in it...love you say it back ;) !



Enjoy the A-list of full emotional-capacity songs:


I: CARRY YOU Novo Amor


There really isn't a better way to start off the lineup other than this song. A truly transcendent experience when pondering life's grander details, or journaling about the foam in your oat milk latte. I can't imagine I'll ever outgrow this song in any volume of life, and I quite honestly pray I never do. I'd most likely take a bullet for it. It's like autumn in the Alps.




II: QUINTESSENCE Theodore Shapiro


I am entirely aware that film scores have begun to reach god-status on Tiktok, but I would like it noted I've had this one saved since 2015. Not only is the music remarkable, but the film is so underrated and is a must-see for any photographers/travelers. Something about this score in particular though makes me want to journey home to hug my mom.


III: COLLECTING SOUNDS AROUND THE WORLD Max LL


If you think I found this song from 2016 Indy Blue, you're absolutely right and there's no shame. Its a killer song. It makes you feel all the things! Dancing around your neighborhood with your friends at night, sharing coffee at a beach sunrise, laughing around a fire, running between platforms in foreign train stations...

It's everything.



IV: AVA Famy


I have TeenWolf & a faded friendship to thank for this song, but honestly after the big OOF + LOL, both make it all the more beautiful. Now it just makes me think of my best friends. The way they make my heart feel held, heard, and hopeful. A little call to adventure with a dash of comfort in having someone to brave the unknown with, so to speak.



V: AGAPE Nicholas Britell


This is the type of song you want to heal the world to. It will make you ponder your purpose from the comfort of your own memory-foam mattress, alone at night. Inspire you to write poetry, or take up knitting, or simply be kinder. It'll inspire you to genuinely love.





VI: FROM GOLD Novo Amor


I admit to feeling slightly guilty for failing to mention this particular song until now, but I didn't want to overkill Novo Amor too soon out of the gate. This song got me through two depression seasons, a quarantine, letting go of toxic friends, embracing art, and across the world. It's a Life with a capital-L kind of song.


VII: OTHERSIDE Perfume Genius


OK--so this one takes a second to warm up to, but you have to listen to it ~correctly~ right off the bat. It's a close-your-eyes-and-imagine-the-most-joyful-moment-in-time, full volume AirPods kind of song. If you can't do AirPods, you'll have to listen with the volume high in your car. You need an all embracing sound experience truthfully. That way it'll be pure magic.


VIII: WHERE'S MY LOVE-ACOUSTIC SYML


I can pretty confidently say I've cried to this song more than any other song, ever. Full confidence on that. & not even about anything in particular, just scattered wisps of emotions that feel spoken for when I'm listening to this song. But also, weirdly, it makes me want to unapologetically sprint into the rest of my life. You'll get it.


IX: AUX ARMES Famy


Clearly, I know what I like & stick to songs within my emotionally verified artists, lol. This one is a big-breath type of tune, and reminds me strongly of the feeling you get when you realize you love someone in any type of way. Of course, with the help of some loud volume in good headphones--but that should be common knowledge this far into the blog.


X: COLD Novo Amor


I KNOW this is my third NA song, but it's not my fault their music is among the most beautiful on earth. This one strikes differently in a bittersweet kind of way. For the different volumes of life, old & new friendships or lovers-- "for all that its worth, I would've loved you until the end." It's reassuring to the soul, while also realizing the humanity. Or something like that.



There it is, laid out on the table, for the Spotify gods to see and feel. There's not much more to say for each one, but I've included a fun video element to give you the right idea of the vibes down below.


As far as pleading guilty for knowing all 10 Songs Worth Remembering Life by, I rest my case.


Bonus Feature:






31 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page