top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMartin Allison

Books & Bevvys: Asheville, NC Solo 2021

SPOTIFY PLAYLIST:

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/6tq5aSmzgbbYHjzbi1XGHb?si=9a88ed6e1d6a4218

Consider it a How-I-Travel-Solo type of blog. And why it's easy enough that you should too!


I found out a week beforehand that my workplace was giving their employees a 3 day vacation...during the normal work week, so what else was I to do than take myself on an adventure?


My travel pals were busy at work & too late to request off and both of my parents were working, so I knew going in it was just going to be me.


But honestly, it was time for another solo adventure.


I picked Asheville, because honestly the hype regarding it was overwhelming from Charleston F&B, and it was a mere 4 hour drive from home. I took to Airbnb as I do in any travel passion, and found the perfect getaway for just me, and decided that night it was worth the booking.


**Quick promo for the perfect fall Airbnb, full of mountain hideaways, evening campfires with the farm cat Noir, and morning greetings from the property hens. Videos and Pics Below. Link Here:



It was all like one big breath of fresh air. For anyone on the fence of traveling alone, honestly just jump off babe. I can't answer enough questions to make you comfy cozy about every detail, but neither can I for any trip. Its so important to learn to experience the world on your own in addition to with friends.


ANYWAYS, Asheville 2021!


The Drive was easy, with playlist and Stacy's pita chips in hand I made great time despite hitting Columbia at 5:30pm. Oopsies.


Airbnb check-in was 6:00pm, so I went for a nice dinner at Rhubarb, a highly recommended spot by Asheville locals. The restaurant is captained by Chef John Fleer, and features an Appalachian-style menu that respects locally sourced & grown ideology. Very #slowfoodmovement ! I settled myself on a bar seat with my book for the trip, Rabbit, Run, and a dirty Hendricks Martini, and chose Rosemary-salt roasted Pecans, Local stuffed Squash, and a Fig tart with dessert wine pairing. The bartenders were cheerful, my book was dragging, and the conversations going on around me were wacky. Between the brit to my left ordering a steak and asking the bartenders where to get "actual healthy food" in town, to the cocky business man bragging about his multiple homes in Florida, it was an incredibly amusing 2 hours.



Check-in was smooth, and after an early night, the next morning found itself full of barnyard friends and breweries! I opened my 9am door to find chickens and goats grazing in my small yard, all (I am sure were) envious of my fresh coffee and deeply poetic journal entry. It was nice to hear the ambient noise of an appalichain wood and farm while I pondered, and it was nice to just breathe. You know, deep breaths. The kind that actually relax you and make things make sense. I ended up snagging some photos of my crazy crew, that I later found out were not *actually* supposed to be out of their pasture. I guess we all love a rebel.



During the day I honestly just brewery hopped, which I'm sure every Facebook friend of mine would have something to say about...me being a solo female traveler and all. But Books & Bevvys for the win! I kept to my book, and everyone else kept to their parties, and I even ended up accidentally walking into a super cool female owned and operated Gin distillery, The Chemist! I got a personal gin collection tasting, and later went back for a killer gimlet and some more chapters of my book. I ended with some classic brisket BBQ, and a trip to ingles for firewood and marshmallows. That night, barn cat Noir & I had a campfire by ourselves and watched Harry Potter with some s'mores. Spooky SZN vibes for sure. Video Below for **proof**


Links to my visits of the day:


The next day I checked out early, and grabbed some AMAZING donuts from Hole, and hit the Blue Ridge Parkway. I ended up stopping at the Folk Art Gallery advertised by the Parkway signs, and got caught in a swarm of retirement groups traveling the road for the day. Always a common theme for me when traveling solo! But it was refreshing to hear them enjoy the small things, and to follow the caravan along the road, film scores blaring and windows down. We would get out at vistas and take photos, we hiked a trail for an overlook, and lived easy. Life isn't that complex after all if you stop to look around.


Full Film score Experience:



On my way back to CHS I visited an Aunt, and we shared stories around a bowl of chicken noodle soup. It was good to talk with my someone who knows me again if I'm honest!


Although it was a considerably quicker trip than my last venture alone, they're always worth it. You're the only person who will be 100% in your life beginning to end...so make it a special life. I could've picked a better book though tbh. Not good. Point proven to always read Harry Potter.


XOXO


A Little ~Memory Trailer~



18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page